FAIA Honor Bestowed

March 25, 2011

News Item Image

Location: Minnesota
Contact: Christine Giberson

Larry Gleason, CPMI Vice President, has recently been named the honor of fellowship by the 2011 Jury of Fellows from the American Institute of Architects (AIA). He was nominated for elevation to fellowship by AIA Minnesota. Out of a membership of over 80,000, there are fewer than 2,700 AIA members distinguished with the honor of fellowship. It is conferred on architects with at least 10 years of membership in the AIA who have made significant contributions in the following areas: the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession; the standards of architectural education, training, and practice; the building industry through leadership in the AIA and other related professional organizations; advancement of living standards of people through an improved environment; and to society through significant public service.

A pioneer and proponent of integrated pre-design, cost-management and project delivery methodologies, Larry has forged an essential bridge between architects and clients through innovative legislative reform, professional advocacy, and local, regional and international education. He has bridged the knowledge gap between architects and clients by defining client expectations for architectural expertise while elevating the stature of the architectural profession. A sought-after facilitator for design team building, he has promoted the qualification-based selection of designers and compensation-supported design competition on dozens of higher education, government and corporate projects.

Along with Peter Goodwin of CPMI, he helped guide legislative reform in the State of Minnesota resulting in the revision of capital-budgeting processes to require architect-delivered pre-design studies as a prerequisite for State funding on projects.

Larry will be invested in the College of Fellows at the 2011 AIA National Convention and Design Exposition in New Orleans on May 13.

The 2011 Jury of Fellows was chaired by Robert D. Loversidge, FAIA, Schooley Caldwell Associates, Columbus, Ohio. Other jury members were Henry C. Alexander Jr., FAIA, Rizo, Carreno & Partners, Coral Gables, Fla.; Jeffrey A. Huberman, FAIA, Gantt Huberman Architects, PLLC, Charlotte; Leevi Kiil, FAIA, Leevi Kiil Architect, Wayne, N.J.; Paula J. Loomis, FAIA, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk, Va.; Gregory S. Palermo, FAIA, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa; and Linda Searl, FAIA, Searl Lamaster Howe Architects, Chicago.

« Back

© 2023 CPMI. All rights reserved.